Community Awards Reception

  • Share:
Name: Community Awards Reception
Date: April 26, 2018
Time: 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM EDT
Registration: Register Now
Event Description:

The Grandville Jenison Chamber will celebrate five award winners & four scholarship recipients at the Chamber’s Eighth Annual Community Awards Reception held on Thursday, April 26at Gleneagle Golf Club in Hudsonville.

Elected officials, leaders in education and business will join together to celebrate the contributions of those that give their time and talents to improve the lives of both residents and business in the community. 

Last Years Winners 

Ella Reed , Daughter of Angela and Chris Reed will be recognized as the GJ Chamber's Future Leader in the Making (8-12) for her volunteer work in the community as well as her role organizing her schools (Bursley Elementary) recycling program.  
Connor Vachon, Jenison Junior High Student was nominated by Brett Cataldo, Principal for the Future Leader in the Making (13-17) award.  “Connor is a leader at Jenison Junior High and sets a great example for others in our building and is the type of student and person that we are proud of.” Connor is a standout academically and is also involved in sports, music and his church. He is the son of Kevin and Mary Beth Vachon.  
Awards Underwriter:

The entire Meendering family was chosen as Grandville’s Citizens of the Year. Theresa Meendering is Downtown Grandville’s Event Planner, but when it comes to the events her entire family pitches in building props, setting and cleaning up.  Scott, Theresa, Ben, Levi and Lizzy Meendering were nominated by City of Grandville's Mayor Maas and Assistant City Manager, Matthew Butts. "The Meendering Family has totally enhanced the quality of life in our awesome city and has made it a joy for me to serve as mayor in this community.” Steve Maas, Mayor of Grandville.
Award Underwriter 

Bruce Rysdyk, longtime Jenison resident was chosen as the 2017 Jenison Citizen of the Year.  Bruce has served Jenison/GTWP on the elections committee since 2006, currently as the Absent Voter Counting Board. He also served as a firefighter from 1971 to 1990. ” There is no one more deserving than Bruce to receive this award that would acknowledge the contributions he has made to this community.” Stated Mannette Minier, Georgetown Township Zoning Administrator and Elections Director.
Award Underwriter: 

Chad Tuttle is the first recipient of the Dennis Van Dam Outstanding Public Servant Award. The award was created in memory of longtime public servant Denny Van Dam who passed away in December of 2016. “I have tremendous respect for Dennis and the service he provided to this community.  He always served with humility and grace, and was generous with his time and resources.  He is greatly missed and I am incredibly humbled and honored to receive an award with his namesake.” stated Chad when learning about the award.
Award Underwriter: 

 Chamber Scholarship Recipients (Funded by proceeds from the Annual Golf Outing) 
Sydney Swenson – $1000 Ted terHaar Business Scholarship Recipient -  Daughter of Mary Swenson,  Sydney is a Jenison High Student and will be attending Loyola University in Chicago studying advertising and public relations.

Victoria Sheetz – $1000 Ted terHaar Community Leadership Scholarship Recipient Daughter of Rita and Christian Tennant, Victoria is a Jenison High School Senior and will be attending University of Michigan majoring in mathematics and statistics or psychology.

Rebecca Harley – $1000 Grandville Community Leadership Scholarship Daughter of of Megan and Michael Harley, Rebecca is a Grandville High Student and will be attending the University of Michigan. 

Scott Kremers – $1000 Grandville Business Scholarship Recipient  Son of Jeff & Sue Kremers ,Scott attends Grandville High and will be attending Grand Rapids Community College in the Fall studying Hospitality.
Gleneagle Golf Club
6150 14th Avenue
Hudsonville , MI 49426 

Date/Time Information:
Thursday, April 26
5 pm - 6 :15 pm - Heavy Appetizers, Lemonade, Iced Tea, Beer & Wine 
6:15 pm - 7:00 pm - Awards Reception 
Contact Information:
Sandy LeBlanc
$10 - Adults 
$5 - Under 12 
Set a Reminder:
Enter your email address below to receive a reminder message.